Our company

Team and history of AGGM

Founded in 2003 as a subsidiary of the former OMV Erdgas GmbH (now Gas Connect Austria GmbH), AGGM has been active as a distribution area manager for the entire federal territory since 2012. In 2017, the function of market area management in the market area East (all federal provinces except Tyrol and Vorarlberg) was also added.

The corporate structure of AGGM is divided into two management board divisions, each of which has two subordinate departments. As a stock corporation acting independently of the other market participants, AGGM fulfills the tasks provided for in the Gas Industry Act (GWG 2011).

Executive Board Division I

Ing. Mag. Michael Woltran Vorstand AGGM

The Austrian energy industry is currently facing far-reaching changes. We want to help ensure that gas remains a secure and affordable energy source for everyone. Every single day.

Ing. Mag. Michael Woltran

Executive Board member

Executive Board Division II

Mag. Bernhard Painz Vorstand AGGM

We are heading toward a new energy future in Austria. In this context, it is of great concern to us that a solid infrastructure for sustainable energy sources of tomorrow is already being created today.

Mag. Bernhard Painz

Executive Board member


Our mission statement

Independent system management

We create the conditions for a competitive market. With our expertise, we see ourselves as a knowledge-based competence center for the liberalized gas market.

Security of supply

We ensure continuous gas supply and the necessary infrastructure.


We meet the challenges of the energy system turnaround and act in awareness of our responsibility to society and the environment.


We promote open communication and cooperation among all market participants.


The corporate structure of AGGM


Gas Connect Austria GmbH (51 %)

Netz Niederösterreich GmbH (15 %)

Netz Oberösterreich GmbH (15 %)

Energienetze Steiermark GmbH (15 %)

TIGAS-Wärme Tirol GmbH (2 %)

Vorarlberger Energienetze GmbH (2 %)

Executive Board

Ing. Mag. Michael Woltran

Mag. Bernhard Painz

(Empowered to represent the Company in conjunction with another Executive Board member or an authorised signatory)

Authorised signatories

DI Gernot Haider MSc MBA

Martin Icha

DI Helmut Wernhart

(Empowered to represent the Company in conjunction with another Executive Board member or an authorised signatory)

Supervisory Board

Ing. Mag. Stefan Wagenhofer (Chairman)

DI Michael Haselauer MBA (Deputy Chairman)

DI (FH) Werner Hengst

DI (FH) Manfred Pachernegg

Dr. Thomas Heissenberger

Mag. Dr. Harald Stindl

Delegated by the Works Council

Sabina Glasner

Mag. Lukas Baumgartner

Christian Ritter


ASGM Austrian Strategic Gas Storage Management GmbH (100%)

EDA Energiewirtschaftlicher Datenaustausch GmbH



Hydrogen Austria

European Hydrogen Alliance